2019 Art Council Board Members

2019 Art Council Board Members

To find out anything about the arts in our county and our region, this is the site to explore. St. Mary’s County has a vibrant arts community, and links to art organizations and a calendar of events will let you keep up to date with what’s happening.

St. Mary’s County Arts Council is a subgranting organization, receiving funds from the state via the Maryland State Arts Council to regrant to art projects, schools and special art events.

St. Mary’s County Arts Council has office space the Leonardtown Arts Center where SMCAC brochures, information, and hard copies of grant applications can be obtained. Our office is located at 22660 Washington Street, Leonardtown, MD 20650

Grant forms and guidelines for applying can be downloaded from this website, and electronically submitted. For any questions, suggestions and more information, please contact us.

Mission Statement

The mission of St. Mary’s County Arts Council is to invest in the arts and increase the awareness of the value of the arts and how the arts can enhance the quality of our community and our individual lives.


The vision of St. Mary’s County Arts Council is to provide leadership to arts organizations and artists, encourage new creative endeavors by artists and arts organizations in St. Mary’s County and invest in the cultural treasures specific to St. Mary’s County. 


Executive Director
Nell Elder

Executive Board Members
Laschelle McKay - President
Christine Bergmark - Vice President
Sue Heather - Treasurer
Julia Nichols - Secretary
Barbara Bershon - MSAC Liaison
Mike Brown - Immediate Past President

Associate Members
Nancy Graf
Donna Jordan
Lyn Schramm
Jeff Silberschlag

Board Members
Fred Heather
Mike Judd
Heidi Kaselemis
Deb McClure
Susan McNeil

Staff Members
Wednesday Davis - Outreach Coordinator
Caitlin Wakefield - Gallery Assistant